Skip to main content

I know these are new to the market, but so far my use of twice at to different locations have been nothing but positive. Anyone else with any feed back on these great table top players?

I can't wait to reduce my CD collections to MP3, I'm thinking for every 4 cd put on 1 in MP3 format, any suggestion with that vs. the player's abilities?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Sorry, but as I have made it well known, I'm an anti-MP3 advocate. But I'm also NOT a DJ either. I'm a professional sound enigneer.

Don't insult your clients by offering them a reduced quality experience for your selfish convenience.

If you want to cut back on media, convert your CD's to 16-bit 44.1 PCM WAV files and lug them around on a hard drive or memory sticks with NO LOSS in quality but easier access. Or, convert to DVD with a simple menu system and "label cards". You should be able to get almost a 4:1 ratio with no quality loss.

I'm old school. I may be stubborn but I refuse to give my clients "LESS" so I can be convenienced. MP3 is not an acceptable format at any rate. I refuse to work on a project from initial concept through tracking, mixdown, mastering and mass production and then onto touring. Why make an effort to knock the quality down at any step along the way?

I'm going to be making myself some "long play" audio-oriented DVD's soon, just in case I need longer background music. Sort of a set and forget at low volume thing. In my case, it's all about the band.
Thanks for your input but one would argue the different in sound quality at 320 bit rate as distinquished from CD quality.On the other hand, for critical listening on a HiFi, I feel that 256Kbps is the best bitrate to use, because it sounds significantly better than 192Kbps. Since I couldn't hear any improvement at all when going to up to 320Kbps, I don't recommend going this high for the simple reason that the file sizes are significantly larger.
Copyright © 2001,2005 Sam C. Lin