Skip to main content

I bought a ps2 about 2 months ago and like it very much, but now I see that the new cdi 500 is out. I'm new to the dj world, so please excuse this if it's a stupid question. Is it ok to use 2 different units with a mixer, or do you have to use the same cd players when your using them together? Also, how does the cdi 500 compare to the denon dn-s5000 and the ******* 1000mk2?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

That's something I'd like to know as well. I've got a pair of the PS2's and a pair of the 1000 MKII's as well (scratch is better on the 1000's sorry guys) but I'd love to know how the CDI 500's sound (as far as scratch).

Oh, to answer the one question:
No, you don't have to have the same two cd players
Not much has changed from the PS2>>>CDI's. The biggest 2 changes (besides layout of course) are the beat synced EFX, and the tray drawer instead of slot, to help keep the production costs lower (to afford the new beat synced EFX) Wink . And in my opinion the scratch on the PS2 sounds if not warmer at least the same as the CDJ's, but I like and prefer the larger jog on the CDJ's for control. For everyone it's now a matter of personal tastes since their are 5 major manufacturers with great scratching decks, so on that front I always advise to try them all, and see what your ergonomic, cost, and feature preferences are, and decide from there....

It's a great time to be a DJ huh?
The PS2, CDIs, Pios 1000mk2s and Dens are all similar in scratching ability, all are solid, responsive and accurate performers. I did found that the D e n o n 5000 wasn't as nice to use as the others, in fact I though the spinning-gimmick jog wheel felt rather flimsy and toy-like to use.