Skip to main content

I thought I read somewhere on here that the signal strength that mydmx isn't that strong and depending on the length of cable run you may need a signal splitter/booster.

Does anyone have a recommended cable length that you could go by, to determine if you may need one or not. Or any advice to this?

Being a mobile DJ, my cable runs are not that long, but just wanna make sure a plitter is something that I wouldn't need or may need in the future.

Allen
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Keep in mind that number of fixtures on the line also have an effect. DMX is limited to 32 devices per universe. Some fixtures will also suck more strength then others will as well. I have never used a dongle based control system before, so I can't give estimates as to when signal drop out may become an issue with number of fixtures. However, I can comment that there are a few Chauvet fixtures that don't play too nicely/play at all with other fixtures/non Chauvet controllers.
See here for an example of some Chauvet product not working correctly. Scorpion LG-60 not responding at all and Colorstrips that flicker intermittently.

There are a few more of their products that have issues like this. They either want to be first in line, last in line, or on a line without anything else but themselves. They also have some weird signal issues like the flickering described above. Yet for some reason, their product works just fine on their controllers.

DMX was invented to get away from propitiatory nonsense. Chauvet seems to be bringing it back...