Skip to main content

I'm currently looking into lighting and was wondering if someone could help me with a question. I'm new at the lighting bit and live out in the boonies so trying to find a place that has the light to check out has been difficult. What is the difference between the Punch LED Pro and the 64B LED Pro? Is there something I am missing about the 64B LED Pro that make it worth the extra investment?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

The LED Par 64 and the LED Punch Pro are very similar. The Punch Pro is more of a "general wash" type fixture, designed to cover a larger area, but probably with a "weaker" overall wash. The LED Par 64's are more directional and focussed.

Personally, I am right now getting 8 of the black Par 64 Pro's. I may later on get the Punch Pro's as well to augment/replace my Color Fusions.
Here's my concept:

Most of my stages are SMALL with tight confines, say a 8-foot deep(maybe 6), and anywhere from 12-20-feet wide. So, I really don't have a lot of room to work. Cramming a whole band with 2 guitar, 2 keys, bass, full drums(oh please be acoustic!) and a lead vocalist or two(Depends on song), that's a lot to cram into a small location.

Use the Par 64 LED Pros to aim at musicians fronts, use the Punch Pros for back lighting from rear truss and for general washes over a larger area, such as a drum kit.

Since my musicians tend to stay put any my vocalists tend to not move around a whole lot, I can get away with that.

Should the "lead" need to wander, that's what follow-spots are for, and it wouldn't surprise me fo LED follow spots aren't too far behind.

Jingles, to me, the ADJ product demo videos just don't do much for me. They give me ideas, but not a real great A/B comparison. I think it's more tha nature of the product.

My statement still stands as far as I am concerned: Par 64 LED's are more of a focused wash(not much), and the Punch Pro's are a general wash(no real beam confinenment).