Skip to main content

Warning: Total NOOb here!

The band decided to get rid of our sound and lighting guy for various reasons. I've been recruited to learn (and buy) lights, because even a basic setup will be better than what the dude is doing right now.

I'm starting from scratch. I've got a line on a used setup: 2 T-bars and 8 ADJ Par 56 lamps, but only with a switching/relay pack, not a dimmer. And no control board. I'm not sure if I'm going to jump on this or not.

We've got our first disagreement going... where should the first set of lights be located? One person thinks they should be on a truss along the back, the others think at an angle in the front facing in. Logically the latter makes more sense to me, because of shadows, but the American DJ basic setup (Link Removed) shows a truss system... Can someone help me get started?

Thanks a million.
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hi Plan_G and welcome to the forums.

I think you have the right idea in that you need some sort of front light. Unless the rooms you are playing in are well lit to begin with, you guys will look like nothing but shadows and outlines of colors. The T-bars should work will for that, one on each side. Put up maybe two cans a side on each bar to start with just for a general wash. You can then add a setup behind for back lighting.

If you are playing in well lit rooms, you can get away with just a truss in the back and use all the lights for effect lighting instead.

Once again, welcome to the forums.
Thank you for the welcome. I scour Craigslist daily looking... I'm looking forward to studying the colors and being able to emphasize whoever is doing a solo, etc., but I find myself jumping way ahead of myself as I have zero equipment LOL.