Skip to main content

After reviewing many posts & seeing how helpful folks on this forum are I've decided to post.

I'm a total newbee & looking to light up a room for house party type situation. Any suggestions would be great.

Consider:
- budget on the cheap (maybe $300)
- small room - 15' x 25'
- probably no fog

I was thinking a Jellyfish & a Color Burst 8. I've been looking at product videos, but some real world advice/suggestions would be great.

My reasoning was the Jellyfish would throw some dots on the walls/ceiling - nice angle of spread for a small room & it would sort of give the impression of movement. The Color Burst 8 would provide a different look & some wash. I was thinking the Color Burst 8 over two "4's" because DMX capability might be nice to have now or down the road.

Along those lines, how good does this stuff work on sound reaction? I'm concerned that w/o control there's no good way to change the patterns around from song to song. I know both those lights are compatible with the UC3 controller, but would I need separate UC3's? Or is a basic DMX controller really the solution, or does that just complicate things. Ideas?

Thanks!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Well, I know the Revo 4 can cover a large area with minimal lighting, but I don't know pricing.

I also think DMX control this time around is OUT of the question due to costs.

Fog draws high, so keep that in mind before you overload your circuit. Worse case is you pop a breaker and the party might stop as you have to reset it.

Really, for the budget, if you're concerned about control later, then you do spend more looking for UC3 options and DMX options, but maybe you end up saving down the line if those are options you want to get into later. Definately look for a fixture you can run in sound active mode and is LED and you're gold.

Also, you do want some method of control, so keep that in mind, as well as avoiding cable clutter and people tripping on stuff.