Skip to main content

Hi everyone,
I have been using the DMX operator for quite awhile now and I have become pretty proficient with it. I'm still a novice though when it comes to Midi. Can software such as elation compu-ware be used via midi to control my lights without additional hardware other than a cable connected from the pc to the DMX Operator? If so, any ideas on where i can get the cable? thanks!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

You don't need to buy ANY fancy software to control your lights by Midi. Virtually any midi sequencer will do - even a freeware or Palm Pilot MIDI sequencer. The Operator only responds to NOTE ON messages - you may have to filter off the other signals (note off, aftertouch) and you should also set the note lengths to a fixed amount.

If you buy the Elation Compu-ware - it, and the connection box it comes with - will replace your DMX operator completely. This is expensive software, but a LOT more flexible than any hardware-based board. This sofware will also respond to MIDI triggers - but they will probably have to come from another source than the computer running the lighting.
MIDI doesn't directly control DMX lights - like your mightys, it can control a DMX controller - like the operator, etc... the controller dictates how it will respond to certain midi messages - for instance, the operator will only respond to "note on" to choose scenes or chases, not control the channels directly, get it?