Skip to main content

I'm brand new to DMX lighting. I went to my local Guitar Center, and was sold the FC-400 package, including the footswitch, dimmer pack, and the 25' XLR data cord. I also bought 8 of their par 64 LED cans, and 2 light stands. This will be used for a 7 piece rock band. We want some simple washes for the slower tunes, and the Music activated mode for the dance tunes. How would I best set this up? I set up half of the system last night, but was disappointed with the results thus far. I'm just starting to learn about this, so I know I have to sit down this evening and set up some scenes. Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated! How do I set a wash of colors? How do I GET a specific color out of the par 64 can? Can I even USE these 64 par cans with the FC-400?
Thanks!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I should also mention that I think I just want the 8 cans to all do the same thing for the washes, and do whatever for the music mode. My physical setup so far is plugging 4 of the par 64 cans into the 4 channels of the dimmer pack on one tree, then linking up the last light of that chain to the first light of the OTHER tree across the stage by a 50' DMX cable, linking the rest of the cans in line (they'd be plugged into a simple Edison strip).
Oh wow, problems, problems, problems.

First, LED Par CANS are DMX-fixtures. They do NOT go on dimmer packs. They have a DMX in and out port. You do not want to plug these into your dimmer packs.

You have the wrong stuff to do what you want.

The FC-400 is for standard Par Cans(any type), ideally.

You're most likely going to want to bring it bakc or bring back the FC-400 system and get a DMX controller(say, a DMX Operator) and maybe a MIDI foot controller(that uses note ON/off instructions) to trigger scenes off the DMX Operator.

Your salesperson really didn't know the products they were selling. Sorry. You need to head back and figure out what to return.
Oh my goodness!