Does this happen once the machine is set right-side up? Without having the machine here for evaluation, we are unable to determine what the cause of the problem is, however, from the details you have provided, it seems like there is something internally that may be causing a short.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .