Skip to main content

I've been looking everywhere for answers, and I hope someone here has seen or knows someone who has seen a similar setup.

I'm new to DMX, and we just purchased a Flash Shot DMX to go with our school's lighting system. We have an ETC Ion Console with Sensor+ and Unison dimmer racks - 120 dimmers total. We have a DMX-A and DMX-B port. The DMX-B ports run to the stage and catwalk to allow us to add intelligent fixtures.

Has anyone used the Flash Shot DMX (or any other DMX-controlled fixture) with a similar setup?? I've been working on this for a week solid and can't get anywhere.

DIP switches are active for 1-9 to program the DMX address; switch 10 determines the "non-DMX" mode, right?? I've tried programming switches to channel 1; ION to channel 513 (which should be DMX-B channel 1), I've tried programming to channel 200 - nothing.

Can anyone help?? We're closing in on the show this weekend, and I'd hoped to use the Flash Shot for lightning effects and a fight scene.

Thanks for any help you can offer!!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

That's the one - Flash Shot DMX LED Strobe. I've tried programming the DMX address in binary with the first 9 switches, and set the 10th to "off" - should #10 be "on?"

I've got a forum post with the ETC ION folks, too - I'm hoping that between the three of us, we can get this fixture working!
Hey Joe and welcome to the forums.

How are you controlling it currently? There is no fixture profile for the Flash Shot DMX in the Ion currently. That might be where your issue is since the DMX mapping on the fixture isn't exactly standard. I will email a profile I just made for it over to Jingles so he can get it to you. Let me know if it works right since I can't exactly test it because I don't have a Flash Shot DMX.