Skip to main content

This is my first post, so hello to you all from the uk.
Having a little trouble so would be very grateful for some help.I have a lighting rig set up starting with..
UFO PRO..QUAD PHASE HP..UFO PRO. (all run by MYDMX 2.0)
They are all set to run on auto if DMX is lost. This happened today. The Quad phase hp ran on auto and the second UFO PRO also worked on auto. The first UFO was just rotating on the Y axis with no light.
I checked all the dmx and auto run and everything was set fine. the only time it went in to auto run was when I switched the quad phase HP off from the mains.
Would appreciate any help as im new to all of this and don't have a clue, just find it odd it worked when the quad phase was switched off??
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hi Toma and welcome to the forum!

I'm not sure I'm totally understanding your problem. I'm not following what works and doesn't work when the Quad Phase is plugged in or not. Either way, I have a few suggestions you can try. First of all, are you using proper DMX cable or just generic microphone cable? Even though mic cables physically work there is a difference between the two. I'm not familiar with the units you're using but if they don't have a self-termination function, be sure to use a terminator on your last fixture in the line.

Some things you can try:
-Switch the order of the lights and see if the same problem tracks through.
-Change out your cables. If there's a bad one in there it could possibly cause this problem.
-If you have a DMX tester, plug it in to various points along the DMX chain and see what it says.

Like I said, I've never used these specific units but I have used other units that when unplugged cause all the other lights past them in the chain to go nuts. If that's the case, just tie it/them in last or use a DMX splitter. With three lights though that doesn't give you a lot of wiggle room!

Hope this helps!