Skip to main content

Hello all - I am very excited to have just received my CK unit. I will be running it with dual 750w QSC (left and Right) subs and left and right QSC 500w tops - should be a pretty bangin setup!

unfortunately, I am used to a PC based DJ program and I am very new to this higher end / more professional unit. I am trying to practice via headphones and a few cd's but I admit I am getting a little frustrated.

The booklet that comes with it is good at explaining what buttons "do" but doesn't really go into "how to" do things such as how to smoothly mix one song to another, how to use headphones and que a song while another is playing etc... at the end of a song I want to smoothly transition / start the 2nd song and keep the beat going...(I hope I am making sense!)

Is there any literature or cd's or websites I can visit or purchase that are a little more on the "teaching how to" use this unit.

I truly want to be a good dj and I am dedicated to study and learn - so any of your input is welcomed.

Thank you

Ron
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Well, nice decision on your choice to go with QSC.

Now, bad decision to go with anything that deals with MP3's.

Why? Let me explain. And I want others to read this too.

Let me start by saying that the QSC stuff is some great gear. Having some great gear is a good start. Not just self-powered, but active, which is better since the amplification is specific to the drivers, not just "slap an amp on the back" as many low-end "powered speaker" makers do. Additional advantages include the fact that you have your frequency management built in, saving time, not having to muck about with cross-overs and other sort of optimization that might be necessary to get PEAK and/or optimum performance out of your gear. I'm not saying passive is worse or inferior, but active has it's advantages.