Skip to main content

Hi,

I am new to lighting. I front a jazz Quartet which plays small clubs and private parties. Up to this point we have used lighting provided at the venue. We are at a point where we would like to have more control over lighting. We would like to start with a basic color wash that would change color periodically. I was very excited about the 64B LED Pro and/or Punch LED Pro (since power is always a problem and portability is an issue) until I read the warrantee. The warratee is void if used ourdoors. We do about 40% of our gigs ourdoors. What do you do in situation? Generally we set up in a 12' x 12' area when we perform. How many lights and what type should we use for this application?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

you may want to look into possibly the elation architechual line. Might be a oil higher priced but is able to withstand outdoor use. I believe the reason we dont offer a warranty if they are used outdoors is because it is not really a controlled atmosphere. I think that is why. I'm sure there are other reasons but that is what I can think of for now.
Welcome to the forums. Sincerely,
Unless you're grinding grass and flowers into your lights, there is no way for ADJ to know you used your stuff outdoors. But, they are stating the warranty is void to make you afraid. The main reason is that outside, you could be rained on. Water and electricity isn't a great combination. So, even if the fixture is grounded, it isn't made moisture-proof. We're talking safety.

But what if some nimrod turns on the fire suppression system/sprinklers inside? It's indoors. It's possible. Warranty still valid?

Go with your original plans. I've used my lights outside tons of times with no problem.

I'm guessing, but 2 Punch Pros would be sufficient, I'm guessing. Or you could double it. You're just concerned with washing with sufficient light to see any sheet music you may or may not have on hand.