Also after you launch the app, try turning wifi off, then back on, then quit the app and remove it from memory, and then open it back up and it should detect. sometimes it's funny like that and i just tried that myself and it worked.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .