I had realised shortly afterwards that what I was asking did not make sense, however I did find what I was looking for thanks. I then discovered the realease of the airbridge so will shortly be purchasing that instead :-)
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .